The Locator -- [(title = "wife upstairs")]

12 records matched your query       


Record 9 | Previous Record | Long Display | Next Record
03368aam a2200529 i 4500
001 9203C6FEB4A711ECBDCF981B5BECA4DB
003 SILO
005 20220405011336
008 201217s2021||||||||||||||||||||||||eng|u
020    $a 1250245508
020    $a 9781250245502
040    $d TxAuBib $e rda $d SILO
100 1  $a Hawkins, Rachel.
245 14 $a The wife upstairs / $c Rachel Hawkins.
250    $a First St. Martin's Griffin edition.
264  1 $a New York, NY :  $b St. Martin's Griffin,  $c 2021.
300    $a 324 p ; $c 21 cm; pbk.
500    $a Includes Reading group guide.
500    $a Best Books of 2021 (GoodReads.)
520    $a "A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins' The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"-- $c Unedited summary provided by publisher.
541    $d 20220224.
650    $a Rich people $v Fiction.
650    $a Gated communities $v Fiction.
650    $a Secrecy $v Fiction.
650  1 $a Fiction $v Thrillers and suspense.
650  1 $a Fiction $v Thrillers $x General.
650  1 $a Fiction $v Man-woman relationships.
650  1 $a Fiction.
650  7 $a Romance fiction.
650    $a Widowers $v Fiction.
650    $a Dog walking $v Fiction.
650    $a Community life $x Fiction.
650    $a Man-woman relationships $v Fiction.
650  7 $a Man-woman relationship $v Fiction.
651    $a Alabama $v Fiction.
655  7 $a Thrillers (Fiction.)
655  7 $a Gothic fiction.
655  7 $a Romantic suspense fiction.
655  7 $a Novels.
700    $a Bronte, Charlotte. $t Jane Eyre.
941    $a 5
952    $l VPPC384 $d 20240509011017.0
952    $l ZXPC675 $d 20240306010421.0
952    $l EHPA605 $d 20230812010553.0
952    $l CZPD706 $d 20230210010635.0
952    $l VTPD454 $d 20220405012852.0
956    $a http://locator.silo.lib.ia.us/search.cgi?index_0=id&term_0=9203C6FEB4A711ECBDCF981B5BECA4DB

Initiate Another SILO Locator Search

This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.