The Locator -- [(subject = "Families")]

32007 records matched your query       


Record 18 | Previous Record | MARC Display | Next Record | Search Results
Author:
Onoseta, Rimma, author.
Title:
How You Grow Wings / Rimma Onoseta.
Publisher:
Algonquin Young Readers,
Copyright Date:
2024
Description:
336 pages ; 21 cm.
Subject:
Sisters--Fiction.
Wealth--Fiction.
Kidnapping--Fiction.
Families--Nigeria--Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Nigeria--Fiction.
Summary:
Kirkus Prize Finalist *Kirkus ReviewsBest Book of the Year *AnSLJ Best Book of the Year * ARise: A Feminist Book Project honoree *A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year *Nautilus Silver Award Winner *Amazon August Editors' pickFor fans of Ibi Zoboi and Erika L. Snchez, two sisters in Nigeria are separated-one in the lap of luxury, the other fighting for a chance to thrive-in this "unforgettable" (SLJ, starred review) novel where the line between family and foe is blurred. Sisters Cheta and Zam couldn't be more different. Cheta, sharp-tongued and stubborn, never shies away from conflict-either at school or at home, where her mother fires abuse at her.TimidZam escapes most of her mother's anger, skating under the radar and avoiding her sister whenever possible. In a turn of good fortune, Zam is invited to live with her aunt's family in the lap of luxury.Jealous, Cheta also leaves home, but to a harder existence that will drive her to terrible decisions. When the sisters are reunited, Zam alone will recognize just?how?far Cheta has fallen-and Cheta's fate will rest in Zam's hands. Debut authorRimmaOnosetadeftly explores classism, colorism, cycles of abuse, how?loyalty doesn't always come attached to love, and?the messy truths that sometimes, family is not a source ofcomfort,and that morality is all shades of grey.
ISBN:
1643753770
9781643753775
Locations:
TYPH572 -- Cedar Rapids Public Library (Cedar Rapids)

Initiate Another SILO Locator Search

This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.